In this Article:

What are Access Groups?
Can I Create Access Groups?
Create an Access Group
Add Social Profiles to your Group
Invite Team Members
Manage Multiple Access Groups with One Later Account
Transfer Media Between Access Groups

What are Access Groups?

Later Access Groups help you manage access to your photos, videos, and Instagram accounts within Later. Now you can have multiple Media Libraries, so you don’t have to share your photos and videos with all your Instagram accounts and team members.

Here’s how Access Groups work:

  • You can easily transfer media between Access Groups or bulk upload new media to build an exclusive inventory of photos and videos.
  • A team member can help manage multiple Access Groups, but must be invited to access an Access Group’s Media Library, social profiles, and Calendar. This helps restrict access to sensitive media and social profiles.
  • Media items are attached to an Access Group and not to a social profile. When moving social profiles between Access Groups, only the posts will move, not the media.    

Can I Create Access Groups?

Access Groups is available for paid plans only. If you’re already on a paid plan, just go to Later on the web to start creating your first Access Group! If you’re on a free plan check out a plan that’s right for you!

Now that you have access, let’s create your first Access Group!

Step 1: Create an Access Group

Important: 

  • Only the Account Owner can create an Access Group. Team Members will not be able to do this. 

Create multiple Access Groups to organize your Media Library by social profiles and team member access.  

1. From Later on the web, go to your Calendar

2. At the bottom left corner of the menu click the Access Group Selector. This is your default Access Group or Main Group.


3. Click Manage My Access Groups to go to Social Profiles & Groups.

4. Click Create New Access Group and name your Access Group.

5. Add a profile picture to your Access Group to easily distinguish and toggle between Access Groups. Simply click EDIT beside the Access Group’s name and click on the Access Group avatar to add a photo and Save.

Step 2: Add Social Profiles to your Access Group

Create an Access Group to manage access to your photos and videos, and separate media by social profiles.

  1. From the Social Profiles tab click Add Social Profile.

2. Choose one of the two options: 

  1. Add a new social profile.
  2. Move a social profile from another Access Group.

Note: If you manage multiple Instagram accounts with the same login information, make sure to sign in with the username of the profile you want to add.

Tip: If you’re having trouble adding a new social profile, try adding the social profile from an incognito or private browser window. 

Important: When moving existing social profiles to a new Access Group, only the scheduled posts will be copied over to the Access Group’s calendar. To move old media between Access Groups you will need to Transfer the media over. 

Step 3: Invite Team Members

Invite team members to collaborate in an Access Group! Remember, your team members will only have access to the photos, videos and social profiles connected to the Access Groups you invite them to.

Note: Initially, your default Access Group will be accessible to all of your team members. If you have sensitive media in your default Access Group make sure to remove team members from the Social Profiles & Groups page.  

Inviting existing team members:

  1. Go to Settings > Social Profiles & Groups.
  2. Click Details next to the relevant Access Group and select the Team Members tab.
  3. Click Assign Team Members.

Finally, select Assign beside the name of the team member you’d like to invite to this Access Group.

Adding new team members:

To invite a brand new team member to help manage your social profiles:

  1. Go to Settings > Team Members. 
  2. Click Add Team Member and add their name and email
  3. Click Send Invite. This will send your team member an email invite to Later.

4. To finish, go back to the Access Group by clicking Social Profiles & Groups from the side menu and clicking Details next to the relevant Access Group.

5. Once in the Access Group select Team Members > Assign Team Member and select the relevant member. 

Tip: You can remove team members from any Access Group at any time. Simply go to the Access Group, select the Team Member tab and click Remove beside the team member’s name.

Step 4: Manage Multiple Access Groups with One Later Account

Create multiple Access Groups to efficiently manage your social profiles and strategically collaborate with multiple teams.

Our dashboard makes it simpler and more intuitive to manage Access Groups of social profiles. Just switch between Access Groups, add media, and schedule.

Switch Between Access Groups from the Dashboard

All of your Access Groups will contain their own:

  • Media Library
  • Social Profile(s)
  • Calendar
  • List of team members with access

To switch between Access Groups, click the Access Group Selector in the bottom left of the sidebar

Once you’re in the right Access Group, you can bulk upload all your photos and videos to build an exclusive Media Library, schedule your week of posts, or manage the Access Group’s social profiles and user permissions.  

Transfer Media Between Access Groups

We’ve designed an efficient way for you to transfer media between your Access Groups. That way you don’t have to upload your old media all over again.

  1. Go to the Access Group that contains the media you want to transfer. 
  2. Go to Media Library. 
  3. Select the media items you want to move. 
  4. Click the Move button and select the Access Group you’d like to transfer the media to and confirm.

Related Articles:

How to Add or Remove a Social Profile
How to Switch between Groups on the Web and Mobile

Did this answer your question?